Legacy Transmission and Gear

 Building our reputation one transmission at a time

1-253-221-1812

18435 East Valley Highway, KentWA 98032, USA
Everett J.   1/24/2017

Legacy Transmission is a good old fashioned family run business! I had lost confidence in transmission repair shops after dealing with (business name removed)
Dave and Wendy restored my confidence that there are honest businesses who want you to leave with satisfied with a smile. Their prices are more than reasonable and they do High Quality work! Plus Dave is very good at explaining what your problem is and your options! Would and will recommend this business to anybody!!! Thanks Legacy Transmission!!!!!!!!!

Mike M. Orting, WA

11/4/2013


Very impressed with his analysis of my cars transmission problems. He went above and beyond to explain his findings. I would highly recommend his services. Extremely honest and genuinely wants to serve his customers.


Jim P  03-22-17

 Dave and Wendy are AWESOME! 
 I drive a 2008 GMC Acadia with a 6T75 six speed transmission.  These transmissions are notorious for failing. GMC has put out numerous technical service bulletins to their service advisors.  My transmission failed twice in the first five years of owning vehicle.  Each time, GMC put a new transmission in my car.  Recently, the transmission failed again and GMC would not repair or replace the transmission again. 
 I called six transmission shops.  The quotes were anywhere from $3,840 up to $6,022.  One shop lowballed the price.  When I checked the reviews for company that lowballed the price, almost all of the reviews said that once their car was in shop, they would "find" extra problems and the price would go up by a $1,000 or more. 
 In talking to Dave, I sensed that he was an honest guy and a straight shooter.  He talked about the transmission in layman terms and how he has had a lot of experience with these specific transmissions.  He guaranteed my cost would not go up, and he offered a two year warranty at no extra cost.  All the other shops were going to charge me extra for a two year warranty.
 I brought my car to Dave and he did an amazing job on rebuilding my transmission.  He would communicate with me on the status of my car.
 When I went to pick my car up, he had my old parts on his bench and showed me the pieces that failed and explained why they failed in the first place.
 Dave and Wendy have a first rate shop.  They are honest, and they truly care about their customers.
 I recommend them without hesitation.Type your paragraph here.

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Ben P. SeaTac, WA

6/9/2016


Very reliable!! They had my best interest in mind when I took my transmission to be rebuilt. Very fast, thorough, and aware of my time restraints. This is the second time I have taken a vehicle here. The first time I was told by another dealer that I needed a new transmission, Dave noticed it was only a $150 part. Dave and his wife are down to earth real honest people. You have a customer for life!


Kev C. Seattle, WA 

7/27/2013


Best shop rocking right now!!! Services and price was great Dave even took the time to fix and show me some other things wrong with my car for FREE. I have not had any problems with my transmission since seeing him back in June and will continue to give him my business in the future and recommend him to anyone that needs a transmission.

Amanda S    9-30-2019

I highly recommend Legacy - not only is their customer service above and beyond, they do quality work. I recently went in because of a sudden noise and vibration, and not only did Dave make time to see me on a Friday last minute, but also took time to diagnose and fix my issues.
Instead of turning me away, he took time right then and there to do a complete overview to find out where my true problem was, answered all of my questions, and made sure I understood my solutions and what I need to do for future care of my vehicle.
I feel confident in Dave's knowledge and abilities, and a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders knowing that I can truly rely on this shop. You can trust them for an honest opinion about your transmission needs and other repairs, fair pricing, and leave knowing that you are taken care of.

Laura S. Kent, WA

7/17/2013


The best shop I've ever been to! This shop is a nice mom and pop family oriented shop ran by wendy and dave who are such amazing people and really care about their customers!! I have taken my car to several other shops, had so many tests done and was constantly told the problem with the car was all in my head, but I knew it wasn't. It felt like the transmission was going out and I was getting so scared to drive it! I took it to dave and he said yes it is definitely the tranny and had my car back to me in 2 days with a rebuilt transmission! My car runs great, and their prices are amazing! I couldn't be any happier! I've been able to make trips all over washington and oregon now that my car is running so great! Thank you wendy and dave! As a low income single mother, it meant the world that you were able to help me get this car issue finally resolved without putting another issue of being able to afford it on my shoulders! You guys are the best, and I have recommended you to all of my friends, and will continue to recommend you to anyone I come across!

Scott F. Seattle, WA

4/3/2015

Dave and his wife are excellent! Our van stopped going in reverse and they said to just come on in. I was going to call a cab to get home but their son was there and was nice enough to drive me home. Later that night, Dave had already figured out what was wrong. Now, no one likes to spend a lot of money when they are not expecting to but I would much rather support local, family run businesses like this then take it to a big shop that costs even MORE. It took them a day or so to get it fix and back on the road. They even kept the parts to show me what went bad.
Such a great experience. I hope to never have to do it again but I would strongly recommend anyone who has to go through replacing their transmission to use Legacy.
Now trying to find them is a little tricky. They are in a building complex. Their building, 184, you have to drive all the way to the back. You will see a chain link fence and their shop is back inside the chain link fence.

Thank you Dave and Wendy!

-- Scott
   Ockham's Razor band

Gina S. Kent, WA

5/31/2013


Legacy Transmission and Gear is the ABSOLUTE BEST!! Dave and his wife are awesome! Don't even think of taking your vehicle anywhere else. Family owned local business with incredible customer service that is rarely seen these days. Excellent quality work, affordable prices, quick turn around, accommodating and honest. They truly care about their customers, take great pride in their work and treat you like family. I was so impressed with them! I will definitely be a customer for life! HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Justin B   9-28-17

I can't say enough good things about my experience with Legacy Transmission.  This is a true "mom and pop" shop with the owners being who you work with.  Dave takes great pride in his work and it shows.  He is thoughtful in his approach, keeps you informed at all times, not only fixes the transmission, but in complete transparency shows you exactly what failed and why.  Both Dave and Wendy went out of their way to make my experience as smooth as possible...Wendy offered to give me a ride to pick up a rental when I had stated I was going to just walk down to the rental agency - I accepted the offer and was certainly grateful as it was a tad further than I had anticipated!
I'll also note that Dave identified other areas of concern and addressed them while it was at his shop.
I now have over 20k miles on my rebuilt transmission and it shifts like a dream.
Bottom line - The prices are beyond fair and the work is exceptional!
Thank you Dave and Wendy for an excellent experience fixing a problem no one wants to have!  :)
I recommend Legacy Transmission and Gear without question!Type your paragraph here.

Transmission Repair in Kent

Michael W. Seattle, WA

11/28/2014

... Dave is amazing!! Not only does he have a knowledge base that will impress most anybody, but he builds your transmission for your needs. He won't try to up sale you just to pad his pockets. I can't recommend Legacy enough!! Great, GREAT, work with a great turn around time!!! Both myself and my pickup are greatful!